Am I Wrong?

What is your picture of a great marriage?  I know Hollywood distorts this picture quite a bit.  People get on each others nerves from time to time.  We are only human full of flaws.  Perfect marriages don’t exist either.  Do we expect too much?  I know what I want.  I don’t expect perfection myself but I guess I do have high expectations.  I want a warm marriage with lots of affection (not just sex!).  I want to be desired.  I want to feel like she really needs me sometimes.  I would like to be complimented.  I want to do things together on a regular basis.  I want to just be sometimes.  I want to be able to share my heart.  I want to still feel accepted even though I make mistakes  I know all this can be difficult with both of us working and having kids so I don’t expect this kind of thing all the time.  As I said, we are human.

The one recent memory that stands out is about 4 months ago.  I was cleaning the kitchen and she came over and kissed me on the cheek.  Nothing dramatic.  Nothing huge, just a little something.  That little kiss made my heart soar and made me so happy.  Why?  Because I knew she did it, not to keep me happy, but that she had a heart for me in that moment.  Little gestures can have a profound effect.

Leave a Reply

